NAISE member among Argonne researchers recognized as 2016 Distinguished Fellows

Jun 14, 2016 | News, News from Argonne

NAISE Senior Fellow Chris Jacobsen was among 5 researchers at Argonne named as this year’s Distinguished Fellows. Lynda Soderholm, John Mitchell, Robert Wiringa and Michael Wang join Jacobsen in being recognized by Argonne for their work.

Argonne Distinguished Fellows represent only three percent of research staff at the facility, making the award the highest scientific and engineering rank at the laboratory. The new fellows are recognized internationally for their work and show the type of leadership that impacts Argonne’s future and its mission.

Chris Jacobsen

Chris Jacobsen is a special advisor to the director of the Advanced Photon Source for imaging and instrumentation, as well as a professor in the Department of Physics and Astronomy (and member of the Applied Physics program and the Chemistry of Life Processes Institute) at Northwestern University.

Jacobsen’s research focuses on developing new optics and computation methods in X-ray microscopy and applying them to problems in biology, environmental science and materials science.

He is a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the American Physical Society and the Optical Society of America as well as the recipient of awards including a Presidential Faculty Fellowship and the Kurt Heinrich and International Dennis Gabor awards.

His PhD students have won Werner Meyer-Ilse (International X-ray Microscopy), Julian Baumert (Brookhaven Lab), Gertrude Scharf-Goldhaber (Brookhaven Lab), and Distinguished Doctoral Dissertation (Stony Brook University) awards.

Jacobsen has been a user of the Advanced Photon Source at Argonne since 2002, and moved to Argonne and Northwestern in 2010.

NAISE member among Argonne researchers recognized as 2016 Distinguished Fellows