Jianhui Wang

Senior Institute Fellow

  • Smart Grid, Microgrid, Grid Resilience
  • Cybersecurity
  • Renewable Integration
  • Energy Economics and Policy
  • Electric Power Systems Operations and Control, Electricity Restructuring

Dr. Jianhui Wang is the Section Manager for Advanced Power Grid Modeling in the Energy Systems division at Argonne National Laboratory. He is also a Senior Institute Fellow of the Northwestern/Argonne Institute of Science and Engineering (NAISE) at Northwestern University, a Fellow of the Computation Institute at The University of Chicago, an Adjunct Professor at the University of Notre Dame and an Affiliate Professor at Auburn University. He has also held visiting positions in Europe, Australia and Hong Kong including a VELUX Visiting Professorship at the Technical University of Denmark (DTU). He has been invited to give tutorials and keynote speeches at major conferences including IEEE SmartGridComm, IEEE SEGE, IEEE HPSC and IGEC-XI.

Dr. Wang has authored and/or co-authored more than 250 journal and conference publications. He is an associate editor of Journal of Energy Engineering, an editorial board member of Applied Energy and IEEE Power and Energy Magazine. He served as guest editor for a special issue of the IEEE Power and Energy Magazine on Electrification of Transportation, which won an APEX Grand Award. Dr. Wang also served as the editor of Artech House Publishers’ Power Engineering Book Series, and as the Technical Program Chair of the 2012 IEEE PES Innovative Smart Grid Technologies conference. He received the IEEE Chicago Section 2012 Outstanding Young Engineer Award.

Dr. Wang is the secretary of the IEEE Power & Energy Society (PES) Power System Operations committee. Before being promoted and elected to this position, he was the chair of the IEEE PES Power System Operation Methods Subcommittee for six years.

Dr. Wang is the Editor-in-Chief of the IEEE Transactions on Smart Grid and an IEEE PES Distinguished Lecturer. He is also a guest editor of a Proceedings of the IEEE special issue on power grid resilience. He is the recipient of the IEEE PES Power System Operation Committee Prize Paper Award in 2015.

Jianhui Wang